baby cake

Here is the recipe that I promised some girlfriends from Mindy’s baby shower. It is from Susan Branch Autumn cook book. My favorite part of this cheese cake is the crust! Enjoy!

pumpkin cheesecake

pumpkin cheesecake

Crust
3 cups broken gingersnap cookies
1 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup sugar
2/3 cup melted butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a food processor, finely grind cookies, nuts, and sugar. Add butter and process until combined. Press mixture onto bottom and sides of a 10″ spring form pan. Bake 10 minutes.

Filling
4 – 8 oz.packages of cream cheese, at room temp.
1 2/3 cup sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1 – 15 oz. can pumpkin
2 tbsp. whipping cream
2 tbsp. rum
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. allspice
1/2 tsp. mace
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. cloves
4 large eggs

Place a large pan filled with water (bain marie) on the lowest shelf in the oven. With electric mixer beat together first 11 ingredients until smooth. Add eggs one at a time, beating until just combined. Pour into crust and bake at 350 degrees, for 1 hour and 15 minutes, ’til cake is puffy and light brown. Sprinkle with a little cinnamon, cool, then chill overnight.

My notes: I thought that there was too much butter in the crust. It leaked through the bottom of the spring form. Next time, I will omit less. I also didn’t add any rum and it was fine without it. I didn’t let the cream cheese come to complete room temp. It didn’t blend like I thought it would. And you can see the cream cheese chunks in the picture. Next time, I’ll know better! I also served it with Reddy Whip. Just like pumpkin pie. Yummy! This was my first cheesecake that I ever made. And was super easy! I am definitely making this for Thanksgiving this year.

Leave a comment

Filed under home

Leave a Reply

